Where to buy Makeup, Costumes, Wigs, etc.

1 Jul

I’m preparing for the opening of the play I’m in & today was asked by a recent Los Angeles transplant in the show where to buy her stage makeup.

My everyday makeup is Bare Essentials powder mineral makeup which looks clean and great for outdoor shoots however, on stage it doesn’t really work, you should use a thick full coverage makeup in a shade or 2 darker than your skin color so you don’t get washed out in stage lighting. Brands to look for are Ben Nye, Mehron, and Kryolan. I buy my everyday stuff at places like Sephora, Macy’s, MAC, or the Bare Essentials store. While stage makeup you can purchase online or from the retailers listed below. I suggest going in store first and getting either a starter kit in your color or purchasing your shades in person first with someone who can help you. The shops listed below have the best selections, staff, and discounts. I have only listed the places I know, trust, and shop at.

I know a lot of professional makeup artists & the majority of them prefer to shop at Nigel’s located in North Hollywood on Magnolia. Not only does Nigel’s have a great selection of Ben Nye and “Stage” Makeup but they also carry all my favorite “Sephora” cosmetics brands for everyday and an unbelievable selection of nail polish, hair care, wigs and false lashes. Nigel’s for sure gives discounts if you are a pro makeup artist, member of SAG-AFTRA or Equity on your purchases.

If I can’t find something at Nigel’s I next go to Naimes which also has an amazing selection of everything and is HUGE… 2 stories and also carries all the makeup text books & videos, as well as a huge selection of makeup cases and tables, etc. I think that their employees are better at answering questions about skin and hair care than Nigel’s and have been more pleased with my recommendations there. They also give union, pro, and student discounts. Naimes is located in Valley Village on Riverside.

Cinema Secrets is also on Riverside just a few miles down in Toluca Lake. Cinema secret makes their own makeup and prosthetics and has a huge selection of costumes and some wigs. I love Cinema Secrets for Halloween or Special FX stuff. They too give pro, student, and union discounts.

Frends on Laurel Canyon in Valley Village / North Hollywood also has a great selection of prosthetics and Special FX stuff. Nigel of Nigel’s used to work here before he started his own joint. I like to come to Frends for their makeup magazine collection.

If you want to stay in the city Hollywood Costume & Toy on Hollywood Blvd & Whitley has a huge selection of costumes, wigs, props, and stage makeup. I don’t think they offer discounts, but again another good resource especially come Halloween.

I do highly suggest once you know what you like, your colors, your products…refilling your stock online, retailers like amazon can offer competitive prices… But I commonly realize I need something same day…and that’s not always an option, so still support your local homegrown shops! I did however buy 100 pairs of fake eyelashes for $15 on amazon, we will see how that works out for me.

Where do you like to shop? Let me know add your comments below.

2 Responses to “Where to buy Makeup, Costumes, Wigs, etc.”

  1. koolaid hair July 1, 2012 at 7:59 pm #

    I love MAC makeup so much. It works miracles I tell ya.

  2. Alex April 27, 2014 at 10:48 pm #

    Your list is literally my holy grail for makeup shopping. Thank you so much you have no idea how much this means to me!

Leave a comment